Review of “The Gods Aren’t Angry” Tour coming soon

I’ve got almost two pages of notes that I took while at the Rob’s speech downtown last Saturday (December 1st, 2007). I will publish my findings here and on Facebook once I’m done analyzing what Rob Bell said, what the Bible says, and if what Rob Bell said lines up with what the Bible says. For those of you who like to read the end of books or fast forward to the last scene of a movie, I’ll go ahead and give you a spoiler on what my conclusion has been thus far.

********** SPOILER ALERT **********

Rob Bell is a highly talented storyteller and speaker. However, I am convinced by scripture and convicted by conscience that he is preaching something other than the Gospel of Jesus Christ according to the Bible. Accordingly, I remain unconvinced that Rob Bell is truly a Christian given the beliefs he espouses through his teachings. You may disagree and wish to defend him and his teachings. I humbly request that you withhold comments to that end until I have presented my findings both from scripture and from what was said during his speaking engagement in Cleveland.

I know I’m not going to win a lot of friends with my work and I am almost certain that I’ll be slandered as unloving and intolerant, but brothers and sisters, I cannot in good conscience let what was said in public go untested and unchallenged by what the Word of God says. As John Calvin once remarked: “A dog barks when his master is attacked. I would be a coward if I saw that God’s truth is attacked and yet would remain silent.”

Neither can I remain silent given what I have heard.

Peace be with you friends, and may Truth be your light.

3 Responses to Review of “The Gods Aren’t Angry” Tour coming soon

  1. Ryan Imel says:

    I would like to read your thoughts on his talk. If I don’t catch when you post them, could you shoot me an email and let me know? Thanks.

  2. Bill says:

    Sure thing, Ryan. I’ll shoot you an email when I’m done writing.

  3. Alan says:

    Bill, I am also very interested in your thoughts. Please email them to me as well. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

