Simply Amazed

What Thou, my Lord, hast suffered, was all for sinners’ gain;
Mine, mine was the transgression, but Thine the deadly pain.
Lo, here I fall, my Savior! ’Tis I deserve Thy place;
Look on me with Thy favor, vouchsafe to me Thy grace.

What language shall I borrow to thank Thee, dearest Friend,
For this Thy dying sorrow, Thy pity without end?
O make me Thine forever, and should I fainting be,
Lord, let me never, never outlive my love to Thee.

The joy can never be spoken, above all joys beside,
When in Thy body broken I thus with safety hide.
O Lord of Life, desiring Thy glory now to see,
Beside Thy cross expiring, I’d breathe my soul to Thee.

I am enamored with the Cross of Christ: its justice and its mercy; its unmerited favor and its infinite mercy; the infinite love of God on display and the hope of salvation it offers.

My lips tremble and tears flow as I contemplate His death and my utter unworthiness of His grace. I am sinful man. He is the thrice holy God. On no merit of my own did God choose me and know me before the establishment of the universe. The defining miracle of my life is that God’s sovereign grace overcame my rebellious and sinful core and brought to me even the desire to submit to Him. Forever I am a debtor to God’s grace.

When I do Thy will, my Father, ’tis not as though I deserve payment. ‘Tis only what I ought do, for I am an unworthy servant and Thou my gracious Master. Lord have mercy on me, I plead. Cleanse me of all that does not glorify Thee. Assist me to walk humbly in Thy grace and confidently in Thy strength.

Leave a Reply

