Needy

The more I learn about God, the more I realize that I lack any means to reliably provide for myself. The more intimacy with Himself that God grants me, the less I desire to attempt to provide for myself. I have discovered great joy and peace in realizing God’s provision far surpasses anything I could ever hope to provide for myself.

A friend sent me a text message last night suggesting that I read 1 Kings 17:1-7. I read and was reminded of how God provided for Elijah in a rather unique manner. He had ravens bring him bread and meat to eat. It got me thinking. Why does the thought even enter my head to ever worry? I am a child of God through the grace and mercy offered to me at the Cross of Christ. God is the provider of all needs, whether mundane or critical. It is God alone who has the sovereignty to provide for my needs. He gives and He takes away. If I am abiding in Him and His will for my life, I will never lack anything God desires for me to have.

If indeed I am abiding in and submitting to God’s will for my life at the present, I have no more than He desires and no less. I live where He desires for me to live. I have as much money as He desires for me to have. I have as many or as few relationships as He desires. Even the depth of intimacy in those relationships is under His providential guidance.

Even the sins of others against me has been sovereignly worked by God to the end of my good and His pleasure. Whether it is a person who commits a physical act of violence against my person or someone who holds a grudge against me and avoids me like the plague, God is still in control of my life.

A hymn comes to mind:

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me.
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand.
‘Til He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

So long as I submit myself and rely solely upon Him and not my own efforts, God is in control of my life from the first breath to the last. It is God alone who commands my destiny. I have been chosen by Him as His servant not because of any merit of my own, but because of what He has done through Christ. And why did God send Christ to die in my place? Again, not because of any merit of my own, but because of who He is.

I am nothing. He is everything. I find in Christ all I need and indeed all I want. May God continue to grant that I find pleasure in Him. May He be the both the fulfiller and the fulfillment of my every desire.

2 Responses to Needy

  1. T. Torres says:

    Wow, now I’m going to start bloging on this site. God is at work, thanks for leading me to this site. I now have a new second place to devote more time online to Faith. #1 BibleGateway.com and now WordPress.com. Sweet!
    -t

  2. tonyatorres says:

    I’ve Joined The Club!

Leave a Reply

